Memphis Y'all: Two Months Midsouth

Southern Woman Cooks Quiche | June 9, 2010

This past semester my dear friends, Southern Belle (SB), Blonde Girl (BG) and I were at my apartment to prepare a meal. Per usual, my fridge was nearly empty.

I assumed that we’d have to order pizza or make some instant mac-and-cheese. I was embarrassed. I was hosting at my apartment and should have had a well-stocked pantry and a bottle of pink champagne on hand for the occasion.

SB assessed the situation and tied on an imaginary tea-length apron that might as well be a superwoman cape. Her shield was a Pyrex pie dish, her weapon was a whisk and her nemesis was the empty fridge.

“We’ll make a quiche!” she declared.

“Ooo-ahhh,” the village people responded.

“But Super-SB, you don’t have a recipe?”

“Have no fear village people, I’ve been trained for situations like this.”

SB is properly raised Southern Woman.  Much like the Native Americans, the Southern Woman uses every part of the buffalo in meal preparation, including the eyes. Much like the Native Americans, the Southern Woman doesn’t need instant cornbread mix to feed her tribe. She needs her grandmother’s skillet.

So where I saw brown eggs, wilting broccoli and cheese from last week’s fajitas, SB saw a feast. In under an hour she whipped up dinner, made clean rice dirty and corked a bottle of wine with her laser eyes.

I adore her entertaining ability. I vowed to myself on that day that I to would become a Southern Woman, but I struggle to free myself of Betty Crocker’s shackles. I rely on recipes rather than chasing my fancy. So when I came across this recipe for quiche, I printed it out and followed the directions. According to SB, you just throw it all together and put it in the oven until it is right done.

***

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Ingredients

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 onion, chopped

1 (10 ounce) package frozen spinach, thawed

5 eggs

3/4 lb muenster cheese, grated

salt and pepper

Directions

Preheat oven to 350-degrees F. Spray 9-inch pie plate with Pam. Heat oil in skillet over med. high heat. Add onion and saute until browned (5 min). Add spinach; cook until excess moisture evaporates. Let cool. Beat eggs in bowl. Add cheese. Stir egg-cheese mixture into onion-spinach mixture. Season to taste with salt and pepper, if desired. Turn into pie pan, spreading top evenly. Bake until top is browned and tester (I use a toothpick) comes out clean, 40-45 minutes.

Credit: #56836 on Recipezaar.com

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Find it:

    Suga' why don't you type in your internet-mail to get my updates right to your inbox.

    Join 6 other followers

