Memphis Y'all: Two Months Midsouth

Colors of the Wind | May 30, 2010

Great-great-great-great Grandma

I traveled to Homewood, AL for the holiday weekend.

Over dinner my grandfather stopped mid conversation and declared, ‘Emily, you don’t know!’

‘Know what?’ I asked.

‘You are related to Pocahontas!’

It all makes sense now.

Apparently, my uncle on my mother’s side has traced the family back to John Rolfe, Poc’s husband once the hussy left John Smith (the decidedly more attractive option, thanks Disney). While to my dismay, my native roots do not warrant free college, I feel obligated to go be with my people for a while. Rather than return to Memphis after Memorial Day I will drive out to the wilderness and become one with the land and befriend a talking racoon and tree.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Find it:

    Suga' why don't you type in your internet-mail to get my updates right to your inbox.

    Join 6 other followers

