Memphis Y'all: Two Months Midsouth

Gowns Granting Wishes | May 29, 2010

This evening marked the first day of the Memphis Brides Against Breast Cancer Tour of the Gowns gown sale. The event runs all weekend with sales on Saturday and Sunday. Brides Against Breast Cancer (BABC) is a non-profit group that sells donated wedding gowns in order to grant wishes of stage-four breast cancer patients.I learned about the event through my internship and was asked to volunteer; that meant I got to fufill all of my Say Yes to the Dress dreams and boss brides around.

It began with a fashion show of gowns for sale. Wearing my pink VOLUNTEER shirt and my new Loft highwasted skirt (shopping in Memphis isn’t bad) I fluffed the trains of countless couture wedding gowns. One of the models was expecting and showing quite a bit–she rocked the empire waist dresses.

BABC has 800 dresses stocked for the weekend. They take donations from brides (hey, you only wear the thing once and it’s fairly clean–I hope, dirty girl), stores that overstock, and companies that are looking to replace last season’s line with a new one and need more space. The goal for Friday was to sell 10 gowns, which meant that we could grant a wish. We sold 11. 

What does someone with terminal breast cancer wish for? Allison, one BABC’s directors and a breast cancer survivor spoke about some recent wishes before the fashion show. One recipient wished for a birthday party, another wished for a hand-held camera so that she could record messages for her young sons to view when she passed, yet another wished for a washing machine in her home because she could no longer make the trip to laundromat.

Before this evening, I’d never seen a woman put on a wedding dress, walk to the mirror, and see herself as a bride for the very first time. I joked with some MOBs (mothers’ of the bride) that I wouldn’t let anyone buy a dress unless I saw tears. I didn’t expect that the person crying would be me. I learned this evening that every woman, no matter her shape looks beautiful in the right wedding gown. We had gowns size 2 through 30 and brides all over that spectrum. I also learned that a simple dress can be $200 as soon as it can be $2,ooo, it’s all about the name on the label–and as my great grandmother used to say ‘if you don’t like what it says on the label, cut it off.’

Okay, so I tried on a dress tonight. It was and egg-shell, v-necks design by Watters. There was blood on the zipper–I’m glad I wasn’t in the dressing room for that. It fit like a dream. I turned to my imaginary dress consultant and said ‘this is the one.’ So I don’t have a boyfriend, so I’m more likely to walk the Yellow Brick Road than get married any time soon–it was a moment. I’m not in a hurry to be in THAT relationship. I don’t need a man to be happy. But all of that aside, I’m thrilled to some day get to be in the shoes of the many women who passed through the doors of the BABC dress sale today.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. OMGosh this sounds likes so much fun! :D! lol glad you’re livin it up on the runway 🙂 LOVE YOU EM! 🙂

    Comment by Sarah-Michelle — May 29, 2010 @ 5:00 am

  2. awww yay! I’m glad that you were there for the brides and that you’re having so much fun! I miss you!!

    Comment by Rachel — May 29, 2010 @ 1:52 pm


Leave a Reply

    Find it:

    Suga' why don't you type in your internet-mail to get my updates right to your inbox.

    Join 6 other followers

