Memphis Y'all: Two Months Midsouth

Memphis Eats: The Edge | July 1, 2010


This post is a response to Prompt #1 of the CKSL Challenge. Please visit and love on fellow Memphis blogheads.

“Welcome home.”

Erica, the mellow, backwards-hat barista  chick greeted me and handed me a menu. The Edge coffee bar is hidden away in a midtown neighborhood. Even TomTom had a tough time finding it. Their were three or four hipsters hanging around the joint, tapping away at their laptops and growing their beards.

Erica suggested that I try an avalanche, apparently it’s where everyone starts. I was feeling more liquid than frappe, so I continued to peruse the menu until I came upon the falling star.

“What’s that?”

She explained that it was the non-frozen counterpart of the avalanche. I was ready-freddy. The shooting star cost me about $6.50 when I added a $2 tip for all of the tour guiding the friendly barista did. She also gave me a frequent buyer card and told me about the cool text-in-your-order deal. This is certainly the type of place where the baristas remember your name and your drink of choice. The owner even came out and introduced himself. The Edge is a labor of love and so welcoming.

Since I went after work I wasn’t quite ready to dive into the meal menu–not to mention that I was overwhelmed by the drink menu alone. I didn’t see it on the menu, but this is the type of place where you’d  order a shot of wheat grass. Both menus are extensive. The Edge has a couple of pool tables in the back and an extensive lending library–I saw a copy of Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and knew that I was indeed home.

The Edge has a distinctly Austin feel much like the other midtown coffee shop I love and frequent, Otherlands. Edge is open til 1 a.m. though–hard to beat for late night funkydoodlers such as myself. Every evening they offer events from Tuesday spokenword entertainment, free pool Monday, etcetera etcetera.

I had to run out to my car to get my memory card and found this cool fence. My beverage was not as sweet as I thought. I’ll probably stick to my latte next time, but the shooting star was a very nice change. It tastes like nutmeg and dreams and perhaps a bit chocolatey. They used crushed ice too, which is rad.

visit cute stew

The Edge CoffeeHouse on Urbanspoon

3 Comments »

  1. This is the next coffee shop I plan to go to…I’ve heard great things about it!

    great post & thanks for playing along! :D

    Comment by Melly Kay — July 1, 2010 @ 7:42 pm

    • I was SOOO excited to find your challenge :). It gives me the perfect reason to try out more new places. The Edge is great. I hope that you enjoy it!

      Comment by memphisyall — July 1, 2010 @ 10:17 pm

  2. I Love My Job!
    This is really cool y’all.

    You guys make me want to go to my own coffeehouse and make time to hang out at the others. I think all the MidTown and MidTown-ish coffeehouses in Memphis are really cool in their own individual ways,and in their Community.
    I would go (and have gone) to the others more if I had more time. But It’s pretty hard out here right now.
    I live close to Otherlands, and have spent many, many, hours on the deck “between Edge’s” drinking coffee, smokin’ cigarettes, talking or not, and looking at this tree that I like a lot. Same reasons that I love the business, people, coffee, community. The stuff you find at Otherlands, The Edge,Java, & Republic are just the coolest most interesting most diverse groups of people I can think of. I mean where do you go if that’s what you’re looking for? Corporate? I don’t think so.

    Comment by Frank James-The Edge — July 14, 2010 @ 8:09 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

